Recipe-Homemade Strawberry Nutri-Grain Bars

IMG_4312 - Copy

I”m a swimmer and swimmers eat lots of food, and I mean lots of food. I probably eat more meals/mini-meals/snacks than Hobbits (they eat 7). So when I’m going to a swim meet I make sure to take lots of snacks. Typically I take bars, chex mix, fruit, and lots of other stuff. Instead of buying bars this time I decided to try out some homemade bars.

Some of my favorite bars are the Nature’s Bakery Fig Bars. However they are expensive. My sister had pinned a recipe for Homemade Nutri-Grain Bars so I thought I’d try them and see if they were similar. They turned out great; everyone in my family liked them.

The recipe for the bars can be found here from Half-Baked Harvest. However, I didn’t follow her recipe exactly. She made her own filling. Since I’m lazy efficient I chose to use Strawberry Jam instead of making my own. I used about 3/4 cup per batch and I made two batches. Other than that I followed her recipe and my family wants them again. Sounds like it was a hit.

Unfortunately, mine didn’t turn out nearly as pretty as hers. As you can see from the picture below, taken right before I put them in the freezer to chill.

From Sarah's Phone 1 - Copy

However, after coming out of the oven they looked much better, still not perfect though.

IMG_4302

So now you have one more recipe to make and one less processed food you have to buy. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

