Recipe-Oatmeal Banana Chocolate Chip Muffins

Woke up at 4:30 am to go to swim practice and swim for 1 hour and 15 minutes. Got home, showered, and was hungry.

This happens every day of morning practice. But today, I decided that I was going to make something good to eat, not eat cereal from the cabinet or snack on crackers and cheese, but actually make something that would satisfy my hunger. So I went to my old friend, Pinterest, and started looking. I searched for chocolate chip muffins and you can imagine how many results came up. I browsed the results, clicked on about a dozen links and started eliminating some to find the one I wanted to make. Instead of going for the chocolate chocolate chip muffins (though I did pin one recipe for later) I decided to make something a little healthier and found this recipe: Oatmeal Banana Chocolate Chip Muffins.

So after pinning a couple more (less healthy) recipes for later I made them.

I’ll have to say that these muffins are different than any other muffin I made, and that’s in a good way. These muffins are made using oats instead of flour and you mix them up in the blender. This means there are a lot less dishes to clean. Because there’s no flour (gluten-free recipe) the muffins have a different texture.

There are several changes I made to the recipe from the original and so I’m including my version here:

Oatmeal Banana Chocolate Chip Muffins

Ingredients
2½ cups old fashioned oats
1 cup plain Greek yogurt
2 eggs
½ cup sugar
1½ tsp baking powder
½ tsp baking soda
2 ripe bananas
1 cup chocolate chips

Instructions
Preheat oven to 400 degrees. Prepare a 12 cup muffin tin with nonstick spray (the batter sticks to liners really badly).
Add oats and yogurt to a blender. Mix until smooth. Add eggs, sugar, baking powder, baking soda, and bananas to the blender and mix again until smooth.
Pour batter into a bowl. Fold in chocolate chips.
Fill muffin cups using a cookie scoop (or spoon, cookie scoop is easier). Bake for 13-15 minutes, until a toothpick comes out clean.
Remove to a wire rack to cool completely.

Source: Everything Pudding (Modified from Dinners, Dishes, and Desserts)

You can also download it by clicking here: Oatmeal Banana Chocolate Chip Muffins.

Notes on My Changes:

I didn’t feel that there were enough chocolate chips when I put in the 1/2 cup the recipe called for. So I added another 1/2 cup and that tasted right (you can never have too much chocolate can you?).

I originally added all of the ingredients (except the chocolate chips) as the recipe said to do. My blender could not handle this. I ended up taking out most of the ingredients and then gradually adding them back in as the blender got the mixture smooth. I changed the recipe to say mix the yogurt and the oats together first until smooth (grinding the oats was what seemed to slow the blender down so this should fix the problem) and then add everything else (except the chocolate chips).

One good tip is to use a cookie scoop (thanks goes to my mom for pointing this out) to scoop out the batter. Use one of the really big ones makes it so much easier.

I also decreased the baking time. I used a convection oven and after 15 minutes the tops were a nice light brown (they probably could have used less).

My family all enjoyed them (I’ve already got a request to make them again). So now it’s your turn to pull out your blender and get cooking. Enjoy!

One thought on “Recipe-Oatmeal Banana Chocolate Chip Muffins

  1. Pingback: Recipe-Omelet and Potato Breakfast Bites | Everything Pudding

Leave a Reply

