Project-Compact Groceries Tote (Christmas Wrap-up #3)

   Compact Groceries Tote-Find out more at Everything Pudding

It’s taking me an awful long time to post about the different projects I made as Christmas gifts. But eventually I’ll get through them all, though you may still be seeing a Christmas Wrap-up post in July (hopefully I’ll get them done before that though). This time I’ve got a Compact Groceries Tote that I sewed for one of my sisters to show you.

About six months ago I got Lisa Lam’s book, A Bag for All Reasons, at JoAnns. The book has 12 different bag patterns, several of which I’ve already got plans to make. The Compact Groceries Tote is the first bag that I’ve tried out of the book. It was really simple and the instructions and pictures were clear, so I had no trouble putting it together.

This bag uses three different fabrics, one each for the inside and outside of the bag and one fabric for the handle. Since I knew the recipient of this bag likes green I picked out three different green fabrics at JoAnns.

Fabric for Compact Groceries Tote

The only other materials needed was a snap set (had on hand) and a swivel hook. I couldn’t find one that met the dimensions described in the book but found this one at JoAnns which worked well.

The pattern pieces for the bags are included in the back of the book. However, because I didn’t want to cut into the paper for fear of losing the pattern pieces, I copied the one pattern piece I needed from the book for this bag onto lightweight interfacing. The other pattern pieces that I needed were just rectangles which the book gave dimensions for and I cut out of a brown paper sack.

Compact Groceries Tote ~ Everything PuddingCompact Groceries Tote Pattern Pieces

After I had all my pattern pieces cut out it was a simple matter of sewing it up. It was time consuming but it was really easy.

Compact Groceries Tote-Reversable! Find out more at everythingpudding.wordpress.com

The thing I really like about this tote is that it reversible and rolls up. It also has a little swivel hook which is meant to go on the outside so when rolled up you can hook it to something. However, if you put it on the inside (or turn your bag inside out, it’s reversible) you can clip your keys or something small to it.

Handy Swivel Hook lends a hand in the Compact Grocery Tote

It was an easy tote to make and really fun since I haven’t made very many bags. It’s perfect for a trip to the grocery store or a stop at the library. If you want to make your own Compact Groceries Tote you can do so by picking up your own copy of Lisa Lam’s book, A Bag for All Reasons, grabbing some fabric, and spending a couple hours at your sewing machine. Happy Sewing!

Compact Groceries Tote-Find out more at Everything Pudding

Leave a Reply

