Project-Cotton Gauze Swaddling Blanket

Cotton Gauze Swaddling Blanket-A great gift and super easy to make! Find out more on how to make it at Everything PuddingJust recently there was a baby shower for a young mom expecting her second, a boy (He has since been born and is absolutely adorable!). I knew I wanted to make something but wasn’t sure what. My mom suggested a cotton gauze swaddling blanket. I know they’re pretty expensive in store so I found a tutorial through pinterest and made one.

This tutorial from the blog MADE was extremely helpful. I ended up using Method 2 which I found pretty easy. I at first attempted to do mitered corners but that was difficult so I just ended up doing regular ones instead. Since I was using a white fabric I used blue thread in a zig-zag stitch to sew it in order to dress it up a little more. Sewing the edge seemed to make the edges stretch which created a slight ruffle effect on the edges. But I think that looked nice too.

So here’s the details:

Cotton Gauze Swaddling Blanket-A great gift and super easy to make! Find out more on how to make it at Everything Pudding

Cotton Gauze Swaddling Blanket

Tutorial: Gauzey Swaddle Blankets from MADE

Fabric: 1 1/4 yds of White Cotton Gauze from JoAnns

Stitch: Zig-zag Stitch in Blue Thread

Finished Size: 43″ x 44″

Total Cost: $5.50 (I got the fabric on sale)

Time Required: 2 hours

Fabric Note: JoAnns was the only store in my area that sold cotton gauze and they had a very small color selection (white, brown, and black, that’s it). I looked around online and found several stores that carry cotton gauze. Fabric.com has a good selection of cotton gauze and it is only $3.95/yd which is much better than JoAnns ($6.99/yd regular). If you want patterned fabric, Fashion Fabrics Club has lots of different patterned ones, though they are more expensive.

All in all it was a super easy blanket to make and a lot less expensive than it’s bought counterpart.

Another Note: Later my mom actually found these sets of four blankets in Costco for $20 a piece. Buying it that way ($5/blanket) means it isn’t worth it to us to make them. However since they tend to be expensive, unless you can find a deal like we did you’ll probably end up better off by making them.

Leave a Reply

